… soul mates.

As I lay there on a particularly lazy Sunday afternoon, a pungent undertone of jasmine on a springtime breeze, I was reminded of a conversation that lay dormant in the memory of my past. To be fair it had become dislodged a few days before as I stood waiting for my take-away coffee and overheard a rather pedantic young women sitting with her jewellery designer. It was her childhood fantasy come true and who could fault her right to fulfil her demanding heart’s one true desire. After all she had snagged the investment banker so could the perfect engagement ring be that far behind?

In the dying light filled my room with a soft rose hue, I looked over towards my writing desk at the picture in the antique studded leather frame. While the details are clouded a decade ago, a certain young women and less certain young man promised that if they both reached a particular age and neither were married we’d marry each other. While it was a laugh then, every now and again my thoughts ran to that summer afternoon. And so, since I’d already reached that particular age, I started giving a lot of thought about buying that milestone ring.

For two days afterwards I caught myself slowing down as I walked from my favourite barista and looking at the various engagement rings in the various jewellery stores. I even went online and looked at the catalogue of the jeweller who crafted my Mother’s engagement ring to my Father’s hand-drawn design. And it was then, in the moment I decided to call her up and find out if this was one of those moments of living in the past. After a few minutes of transcontinental conversation I asked what her dream ring would look like.

It was strange because she knew exactly where this was going before I even mentioned it. That’s the thing between us – we always know where the other person is no matter where we are – and it’s always been like that. I sometimes wonder what my life would be without her. The more I think about it the more I realise that she has been the only person that I have truly loved and could never imagine life without her.

So as I sit and think about what I want for the future I have to admit the more I think about it the more I want it. Serious thought is going into proposing to her once my life has stabilised again. Assuming she’ll have me of course … I realise that there would have to be some life changing decisions made but at the end of it all they would be worth it because I would be gaining so much more. More than just my best friend … my soul mate. 

Leave a Reply

