… the love letter.

“… With some friends on Fire Island. It’s cold and the season is over so there is no one here. The fire is burning. Drinking red wine. I put on one of your CDs. Just like that, everyone stops talking. It’s not the first time this has happened. Something about your music. They listen to one song, then another. Transported. Each one to a different place, a different memory. This goes for a while. Then, someone at the table wants to know. Who made you this mixed CD? And so I tell them about a boy I met at a cemetery. Who took me to a beach once and under the moonlight played me a song about two people who together forget the world. And you can tell by the look in their eyes that they are overwhelmed by the story. The romance of it all. It’s a love letter this CD, they say. Then they ask that question. The one I know would make you smile if you were here.” 

Ethan Gray (Shades of Gray) 

Note to reader:These words, as always, take me to another place of passionate introspection. Of things that I want from life. Of myself. When I was down his [Ethans’] emails [to me] took me from the dark place I was in by showing a sublte way that words have the power to heal.

Leave a Reply

