… twenty-foreplay.

‘… Wentworth Miller and Channing Tatum,’ I replied to his question as we lounged on his bed watching the movie, ‘now that would be the perfect gay couple.’ In the silence that followed I wasn’t sure if that smile meant he agreed or disagreed with me, so I poked him in the ribs with my elbow. Just to make sure he’d heard me. Making a noise that could have been mistaken for a grunt he got up off the bed, walked towards the bathroom and returned a few minutes later to his slumbering position beside me. ‘What about you and me?’ he asked looking straight at the TV screen.

My regular Tuesday dinner with the Bradley Cooper-esq guy had kinda increased to Thursdays, some Saturdays, and a few Sundays too. This week was no exception when we started outside on his newly timbered deck under an ancient apricot tree with herb and buttered baby potatoes, garden salad and a rack of roast lamb cutlets. As the air became a little fresh, we moved inside for dessert and coffee. Unsure how my espresso was made quicker than the messy meringue dessert (think Pavlova crumbled up) and instead of a tour around the galaxy our after dinner entertainment was a DVD he had picked-up.

It struck me as odd because I’d never seen a TV in the house and so with my second espresso I followed behind him and found myself in his bedroom. And solved the mystery of the missing TV. For a gentleman his study is often the window into his soul as he whiles away the hours contemplating lofty ideas and concepts. For a gay man his study has been replaced by his bedroom as he whiles away the hours exploring the tormented delights of his lover’s responses, deftly wielding not only his feathery finger tips to entice the naked skin but his moist, warm tongue for sensual pleasures as well.

As he put in the DVD into the machine, switched the impossibly large TV on, kicked off his trainers and padded to his side of the bed, it dawned on me how welcoming his room felt. While my taste tends to run towards modern or functional his house had been furnished almost deliberately as if he wanted every chair cushion or curtain to provide comfort. Corduroy, bulwark denim and stressed leather softened with raw silk, velvets and cotton. You eased into a chair rather than sat down. And with every French door or sash window open the line of indoors and outdoors blurred to one environment.

Since we’re only friends I thought nothing of kicking my shoes off, taking one of his extra pillows and getting comfortable on his bed to watch the movie. One of those typical fluff films that I had mentioned in the past I had enjoyed because of the lead actor it reinforces that elusive dream where anything is possible if you just happen to be gorgeous. It wasn’t until half-way through the film that I became acutely aware that he was only inches away from me – almost as if we had crept unconsciously together – and that I could smell the heat from his chest.

To be fair, his bed wasn’t the stereotypical King size that the men in my past all seemed to have. Obviously chosen to fit the antique frame that it was on, it seemed lumpy now that the goose-down cover had been ruffled and the pillows less plump since being used as back support against the wooden head-board. A cable knit cashmere blanket covered our feet against the closing chill of the jasmine infused breeze the only illumination other than the screen was the one reading lamp in the corner of the room. To lessen the moment we started playing that avoidance game: if you could, would you?

Okay then’ he joked a little while later ‘who is the most unlikely gay couple?’ And even though they are total pretty-boys, and therefore attractive to even the most cynically hardened heart ‘… Wentworth Miller and Channing Tatum,’ I replied. He had that strange smile on his face that turns the tips of his lips slightly upwards. I had seen it before when someone complimented something of his that he took pride in. Often you tell what people want in the games that they play. ‘What about you and me?’ he asked looking straight at the TV screen. And then I realised that this wasn’t a game anymore. 

Leave a Reply

