… and isn’t it ironic?

An old man turned ninety-eight. He won the lottery and died the next day. It’s a black fly in your Chardonnay. It’s a death row pardon two minutes too late. And isn’t it ironic… don’t you think

There’s a line in a song that has being playing over and over in the back of my mind for a while now and it wasn’t until a few weeks ago that the poetry struck me with the irony of life in general. It’s taken me 14yrs for the words to resonate, and boy have they? A metronome to the months that have ticked by, a friend with benefits has been creeping deeper and deeper under my skin and become just a best friend. In an ordinary world this would be the first sign that I was heading towards some sort of an exit, but instead of being shown the door I’ve been shown into the inner sanctum that is his friendship and trust.

 

Mr. Play It Safe was afraid to fly. He packed his suitcase and kissed his kids goodbye. He waited his whole damn life to take that flight. And as the plane crashed down he thought “Well isn’t this nice…” And isn’t it ironic… don’t you think

And all this while, these past few weeks have also shown me the irony of false friendships as I have had to struggle through the growing pains of my company, and my integrity as they both emerged from chrysalis. In doing so the hardships have also revealed the silken webs we weave as we go along. Certainly separation of wants and needs have made me stop and think that what we want certainly does have a way of finding us when we least expect it and need it most. It takes just a cup of coffee at a bar with a beautiful stranger between media training, the sharing of a passion and mutual respect for the craft of others – all steps that take time to reveal the hidden mysteries of life.

 

A traffic jam when you’re already late. A no-smoking sign on your cigarette break. It’s like ten thousand spoons when all you need is a knife. It’s meeting the man of my dreams and then meeting his beautiful wife. And isn’t it ironic…don’t you think. A little too ironic…and, yeah, I really do think…
Like the truth shared between two strangers as they sit in the late afternoon sun and debate a future that can never be shared or imagined except in unspoken words and half lived dreams. And even if that one moment of fantasy were met – I’m not sure if I could live with the pressure that would come when a world was surrendered for your love – of being the man that everything was sacrificed for. I realised this when I almost threw away what we had for someone I never truly wanted in the first place.

 

It’s like rain on your wedding day. It’s a free ride when you’ve already paid. It’s the good advice that you just didn’t take. Who would’ve thought… it figures. Well life has a funny way of sneaking up on you. When you think everything’s okay and everything’s going right. And life has a funny way of helping you out when. You think everything’s gone wrong and everything blows up in your face.

 

As I sat starting at the stars this past weekend, it struck me that in life it’s a pretty common belief that women tend to use the left or more emotional side of their brain and men the right more logical side. But is it really that cut and dry? It seems that when it comes to affairs of the heart there’s a battle between what we know and what we feel. So what do you do when you find yourself in a situation that leaps back and forth between the left and right side? I couldn’t help but wonder: when it comes to relationships, is it smarter to follow your heart or your head?

 

Life has a funny way of sneaking up on you. Life has a funny, funny way of helping you out. Helping you out

Leave a Reply

